An Editorial on Identity Before and After Rachel Dolezal

soul train jpeg

For those who have been following this site since I started it back in 2009, I want to say “thank you”. You have been keeping up with all of the many changes my life has gone through as I’ve expanded my brand to not only include writing services but profiling more and more of my own work as a performance artist (which I actually began professionally before I started writing!)

I haven’t written for other publications regularly since I stopped writing for SoulTrain.com  in 2012 when I decided to take a hiatus from professional blogging and arts writing to focus more on creating and producing my plays and my music. Most of the professional writing I’ve been doing has been as a ghostwriting for clients hiring me to work on their books or creative writing as I’ve created numerous plays, poems and songs while on hiatus from journalism these past three years. So, it was with pleasure that I was able to contribute a piece to the website The Body Is Not An Apology to talk about identity and its role in my life as a Black woman during an age of Rachel Dolezal, police sanctioned murder of Black people and a social climate that is ripe with strife and disharmony.

Check out the piece here and let me know what you think in the comment section. Be sure to tweet it and/or share on Facebook!

What's Your Comment?

