NEW POEM: Speak (NSFW)

(Video above displays performance from July 17, 2014 performance at La-Ti-Do at Black Fox Lounge in Washington, DC)

SPEAK
I speak soft so I won’t yell, so that I won’t seem too angry
So you won’t think I’m crazy
So you will want to date me
So I can’t scream if you rape me
I speak soft so I won’t yell, so that I can get that job
While you continue to rob me
So that I can be gladly ignored
So my quiet will be cherished and adored
While you are God and Lord
I speak soft so I won’t yell
Oh, what a glory hell
You treat me oh so well
You despise me yet say that you don’t
Expected to ally with me, but really you won’t
Wouldn’t recognize my voice if I spoke
My rights, my humanity, my freedom,a joke
I speak soft so I won’t yell
My Mom said loud girls only repel
Her marriage was miserable and didn’t end well
But, her message was clear and driven in deep
I only speak loud when I am asleep
My voice now so quiet it stammers and hides
Hardly a connection to what is inside
I speak soft so I won’t yell
But, my daughters, I hope to teach and I will tell
To grab their voice and fling it large
Own their space and live in charge
Speak way loud, fuck it
SCREAM
Envision, activate, fuck a DREAM
Organize, create, and stand
Know their own voice better than their own man
Speak so loud that quiet disappears
Speak for all the years others have hidden their voice behind tears
Speak for the world today
And the babies of tomorrow
Speak for kindness, Speak for equity, speak and follow
Your heart that requires your voice, your mind and spirit
Speak loud.
Speak loud.
So we can hear it.
speak

What's Your Comment?

