Join Me As I Celebrate Kwanzaa @ Urban Eats Music Cafe on Dec. 15

Kwanzaa is the annual celebration of culture and community, founded on the belief that recognition of the 7 principles of Unity, Self-Determinaton, Collective Work & Responsibility, Cooperative Economics, Purpose, Creativity and Faith will lead to progress.

I’ve been celebrating Kwanzaa since I was a young person, first celebrating it when I briefly attended Nation House Watoto Shule in Washington DC and later producing my own celebrations while working at a community nonprofit for almost six years. I realized that there is no reason why I can’t continue to celebrate this significant occasion as I now head my own organization, Liberated Muse Arts Group, which will be celebrating its 5th anniversary next year.

Liberated Muse Arts Group– a manifestation of the 7 principles of Kwanzaa– wants you to join us for a two-hour celebration with music, storytelling and spoken word performed by some of our talented members who have been seen in many of productions throughout our past four years, including Anisha “Mama Moon” Newbill, D. Marq and Nia Simmons. I will be hosting and will be celebrating my birthday at this event.

If you don’t know anything about Kwanzaa, be sure to come out to learn a thing or two and if you are a regular Kwanzaa celebrator, be prepared to share with everyone how you traditionally celebrate. Kwanzaa, while not a religious celebration, is a cultural celebration that encourages communal sharing, peace, upliftment and fellowship.Bring the family out to this FREE Event!!As we head toward our 5th anniversary in 2013, we want to share with the community our collective talents as we recognize the true spirit of community.
Food and beverages will be sold as well as our two anthology volumes. We are most excited about our debut of the Kwanzaa Kids– children of many of our talented members (my daughter included)– who will perform during the event.Come out and share the love!RSVP on Facebook here

UPDATE (12-16-12):

This event was cancelled on Dec. 8 after the death of my dear friend and collaborator Derrick “D. Marq” Smith on Dec. 7. Derrick was the band leader for the event and was also scheduled to perform. I apologize for any inconvience this may have caused. His funeral was on Dec. 15. I didn’t have the thought to update my own blog regarding the cancellation prior to the scheduled date.

What's Your Comment?

