Why Lupe’s ‘B*tch’ Is Right On Time

Lupe Fiasco’s latest video Bitch Bad is everything I believe art should be. It challenges the status quo, gives historical context, and serves as a teachable moment. I watched the video with my 8 year-old, calling her into my office to watch it with me because I knew, without even seeing it or reading anything prior about it, that it would be something worthy of sharing with her and discussing with her. Lupe Fiasco has proven to be that type of artist since he came into mainstream attention.

I’m not going to ruin the video for you, so watch it below for yourself.

I enjoyed meeting and interviewing Lupe in 2009 when he was promoting “The People Speak” and was impressed with the depth of his insight as a young person and as an entertainer.  Here is video footage of the press conference in 2009.

What do you think about his new video?

UPDATE: I wrote some commentary regarding the video for SoulTrain.com. Check it out here.

What's Your Comment?

