Countdown to Debut of “In Her Words”

This weekend has been a whirlwind as me and my cast prepare for the debut of my new theatrical piece “In Her Words”. I can’t truly call this a play but, rather, a theatrical and musical tribute that gives you background information about each artist highlighted, with actual monologue/dialogue culled from the research I did on each woman this past Fall. It’s entertaining, it’s educational and it’s FREE for you to check out if you are in the Washington DC area. All this week, I am going to be posting information about the show, along with interviews and the like I’ve been doing with local blogs and sites about the show.

Naomi Rose stars in "In Her Words" as the main character Cass, a college student who is doing a late-night paper and meets her idol Lucille Clifton in a late-night journey through history. (Photo by Khadijah Ali-Coleman)

You can click here to get the address and time of the show from the DC Public Library site.

You can click here to view some of the great photos I was able to capture at rehearsal yesterday. My cast is absolutely incredible.

If you’d like to visit the “In Her Words” site, click here.

——-

Khadijah Ali-Coleman–performance artist, creativity coach and playwright–is founder of the online space LiberatedMuse.com, which boasts a membership of more than 700 from across the world. Since 2008, Liberated Muse has produced numerous events, including the annual Capital Hip-Hop Soul Fest, Ali-Coleman’s play Running: AMOK, which debuted at the fifth annual Capital Fringe Fest, and the book Liberated Muse Volume I: How I Freed My Soul.   The Prince George’s County Maryland Innovation Fund awarded Ali-Coleman the 2012 “Top Forty under 40″ award in the Arts & Humanities. Contact her at LiberatedMuseProductions@gmail.com to hire her for your coaching and writing needs.

What's Your Comment?

