Liberated Muse Volume I: How I Freed My Soul Celebrates 1st Anniversary

This past June, the book Liberated Muse Volume I: How I Freed My Soul  (Outskirts Press, 2009) edited by Khadijah Ali-Coleman, celebrated its first anniversary in print. The anthology is a collection of short stories, poetry, essay and visual art by literary and visual artists from across the world. The book speaks to the idea of freedom and each writer and artist depicted their idea of how their idea of freedom was realized. The book has sold over 100 copies online and at events and was entered into circulation within the DC Public Library System.

Khadijah wrote the preface to the book, sharing how the book came to fruition and the trials and tribulations endured before freeing her own soul through the arts as a full-time arts professional and educator. She was recently featured on the Michael Baisden show  during a segment that aired on June 16, speaking about the book and her work with Liberated Muse Productions.

